Perception or Premonition?

A

a.saccus

Has anyone had an experience like this? It has happened to me twice in the past six months.

I make my living as a home healthcare aide, and, as many of my clients are elderly, their passing away is a sad but not totally unexpected outcome I must deal with on occasion.

Last Monday, a gentleman in his early 90's that I had cared for two days a week for the past four months passed away. I had cared for him and last saw him on the day before he died, and he seemed fine: he walked well, had a good appetite, spoke and thought clearly, and was in good spirits.

After breakfast, he lay down on the sofa and took a little nap. I sat in a chair nearby reading. He lived alone in a trailer in a peaceful part of a wooded area. The sky was overcast but there were no artificial lights on in the room. I chanced to look up from my reading one time as I was turning a page and then paused to look over at him. He was resting peacefully, breathing quietly. I was myself calm and at ease.

What I'm going to try to describe now is something that I class as a sensation or a perception, not a figment of my imagination or expectation of my own, or my own sensory malfunction:

His face suddenly looked "different" for an instant. There was a brief sense almost of a "double-exposure" over his face. And then it "settled down"back onto his face, and his face looked "different" afterwards, but I would be very hard pressed to say in what way. It was only his face that was affected.

That's the only way I can think to describe it: a very distinct perceptual change had come over his face for a moment. It wasn't a physical movement, for he was perfectly still. It wasn't a change in the lighting in the room. It wasn't that he turned flush or pale; it was a three-dimensional semi-transparent phenomenon.

Later in the morning he had a visitor, and he seemed his old self. The next day was my day off, and he passed away.