weak critical thinking and daydreaming

I think I was not looking at the context of Joerg's post and so was interpreting Bo's statement too broadly, kind of like 'you're not mechanical, the issue is you believe you are.' It doesn't help that I was purely substituting 'mechanical' for 'weak critical thinking' either. There are similarities but there are differences which are relevant, namely the identification or attachment of being a 'weak critical thinker'. Since I was already using an expansive definition of mechanicalness I missed the subtleties involved. I notice I spend a lot of time associating similarities, which when done out of context or disregarding someone's specific situation is not externally considerate. Apologies. As has been said, the devil is in the details.

All this made me think of a realization during grade school. I was a pretty average student and thought everyone got either poor, average or high marks because that's who they were and that was their lot. But then there was something that helped me realize that assigning myself as average was really a false barrier and I could choose to get high grades if I worked a little harder. I think this realization made it much easier to learn as well. It was funny to notice the confused honor students reactions when I got into their classes: 'What is he doing here? Isn't he's supposed to be average??' It seemed those notions of 'assigned position' were popular.

Oh well, now I got it what Bo and others meant.

Yesterday, after Laura has been posting this, some pieces came together.

Laura said:
Los said:
Bo said:
Your problem is not that you are a weak critical thinker, it is the illusion that you think you are.

This sounds like a bit like new age gobbledigook. If someone sees their mechanical thinking, it can be quite helpful and and a step towards reality rather than illusion.