Spelling & Grammar Checker

SHNAGFNAY

Jedi Master
Some time ago when I wrote a post on the forum there was a green zigzag underline as I wrote the text and clicking on it showed suggestions on how to rephrase it. Then next time I wrote a post there weren't any suggestions or green lines anymore.

I was impressed and thought it could be good for learning grammar as I am not good at it.

I have searched the web for this and the only app having those green underlines are a function for Microsoft word, I think, it is Microsoft editor - and I suppose only if you have a subscription for it to work.

Could it be that my Microsoft Editor which comes built in with Microsoft edge web browser had a glitch and activated the paid form 'refinements'?

You have 3 options to choose from in Microsoft Editor 'spelling' 'grammar' and 'refinements'. And 'refinements' can only be activated with a paid subscription.

Does anyone here have a paid subscription that can confirm those green lines?

Hi Shnagfire,

I really don't know much about Microsoft Edge, but I know you can turn on the spell check on Google Chrome, Brave, etc., so I suppose it might be possible with Microsoft Edge too.

Maybe this article can help:

Sometimes I think that my way of formulating sentences isn't good enough, that I won't be fully understood. The "Rephrasing" as I call it and mentioned in the original post, the green zigzag underlines, gave suggestions, how to restructure a sentence. But I only got to use that particular feature once and I am not even sure if it was the spell checker on Edge or some other program, that maybe interfered, hence my question on what those green zigzag lines were coming from. But I am using spell and grammar check with Edge, and have for some time and still is. It checks for mispelled words and also a little grammar but it isn't sophisticated in my opinion. I have tried another checker addon but I didn't find it any better.

Maybe this article can help: