Rage Against The Machine

G

I've been listening to this band for about seven or eight years, and having just scanned the forum I cannot see any threads on the subject, so I will just say that this band were the greatest writers of love songs of all time!

Anyone who has seen the Matrix films (1 and 2) will recognise the tunes "wake up" and "calm like a bomb" from these men, and their whole oeuvre reflects the spirit of the seeker of truth, and the dreadful absence of it in our culture.

They were, as many bands with teeth have been over the years, pigeonholed to a certain extent, and their combination of hip-hop and hard rock, funk, and thrash punk has been imitated with diminishing returns countless times by inferior bands such as the tragic Limp Bizkit (the clue is in the name), but imho no-one has come close to the sheer purity of the Rage aesthetic. They are exhilarating and cathartic, whilst also being intellectually precise and questing. Their second album "Evil Empire" features a reading list for interested listeners, which includes "A Yaqui Way of Knowledge" by our good friend Castaneda, among others.

The lyricist/vocalist, Zach de la Rocha, had a very tempestuous upbringing, involving being kept indoors by his possesive and religiously bonko father, praying constantly behind drawn curtains. Naturally, mother had split the homestead many moons before. Zach eventually ran away and the rest is rock history. His father also had a breakdown and they have subsequently reconciled some of their differences, which can be discerned in many of the lyrical allusions to broken homes in their songs.