A New World - Whitley Strieber

Pearce

Jedi Master
I just finished Strieber's latest book A New World which was published in November 2019. I figured why not and it was only $15.

Well, I'm underwhelmed to say the least. I don't for a minute doubt his experiences, but I do highly doubt his interpretation of them. But as it is his journey and I've no first-hand knowledge of the exact experiences he describes, I cannot fully state that his interpretation is incorrect. I can say that I've had a few experiences similar in ways to some of what he describes, and both my own, and nearly every story he recounts in the book, left me feeling very invaded and was not by any stretch of the imagination a pleasant experience, even if later on it could be said to have been a springboard to events that did have beneficial outcomes.

Essentially though, the first half of the book gives the impression that Strieber possibly has symptoms of Stockholm Syndrome. He repeatedly describes events that send off his alarm bells and for a while does have his defenses up, but at the same time seems to be describing how great they are and that even though there's a lot of terror involved in the interactions, that it's actually a good thing.

He describes in not much detail, (a recurring theme throughout the book) the night he received his implant, and how he fought back and forth with wanting to remove it, but now has come to love it even if he thinks it isn't there any longer because it dissolved or something. He also says he's going to tell more about who the people were that broke into his home to do so, but he never really gets back to them in a meaningful way.